Just How Big are Your Pockets?

Jesus fits so easily in my pocket. He seems to like everything that I like and shares my dislikes. When I’m angry at those in authority, Christ is a rebel but when I’m in charge, Jesus desires order for progress’ sake and nods his head when I lay down the law. Some people love following rules while some can’t see a rule without breaking it and my parents without the slightest hesitation would say I belong to the latter. Perhaps that’s why my favourite stories from the Gospels are those that tell of Jesus’ rule breaking like the Sabbath healing miracles, healing the Gentiles, chilling with Samaritans and having pizza with sex workers and corrupt government officials. Stories of Jesus restoring order in the temple with a whip in His hands (He didn’t strike anybody) and giving instructions to the disciples just fade into the recesses of my mind, subject to only a begrudging assent.

If only He wasn’t such a nice guy, maybe I could take Him more seriously. Imagine the King of the Universe hanging naked on a cross, turning the other cheek and strolling the extra mile! Fancy the King of All washing filthy feet! That was the point though. In Luke’s account of it (Luke 22), Jesus set the record straight about how His kingdom functions:

Within minutes they were bickering over who of them would end up the greatest. But Jesus intervened: “Kings like to throw their weight around and people in authority like to give themselves fancy titles. It’s not going to be that way with you. Let the senior among you become like the junior; let the leader act the part of the servant.

“Who would you rather be: the one who eats the dinner or the one who serves the dinner? You’d rather eat and be served, right? But I’ve taken my place among you as the one who serves. And you’ve stuck with me through thick and thin. Now I confer on you the royal authority my Father conferred on me so you can eat and drink at my table in my kingdom and be strengthened as you take up responsibilities among the congregations of God’s people.

(Luke 22:24-30 The Message)

The power of humility is incredible. Jesus is immensely powerful; speaking stars into existence and chatting corpses to life but there’s more to it than meets the power hungry eye! Jesus doesn’t want us to trust in His might but in the love with which He wields that power. The Bible isn’t a buffet meal from which I’m to choose whatever I feel like eating, it is a complete balanced meal I’m to consume in it’s entirety if I’m ever to live. 

From that perspective, Jesus is more than a religious mascot for whatever cause I happen to be in support of. No! Jesus is more than a nail-pierced reflector of my opinions and feelings – that’s my parrot’s job – He is God made man. Christ is God in an accessible (not malleable) form to allow certified sinners like me the chance to see Him as He is (character) and not die but thrive and be renewed in His grace. How dare I try to squeeze Him into my pocket!

If you think, that’s bad, wait till you see how I’ve relegated the Holy Spirit to a celestial Siri whom I ignore until I’m stuck. I guess it’s partly because when I sit in the church pew and listen, He seems little more than some ethereal lotion to be squeezed out of a bottle or insecticide sprayed from a can. Why doesn’t He speak up for Himself and set the record straight? It’s that humility thing again! At the same dinner mentioned above, Jesus spoke about Him:

I didn’t tell you this earlier because I was with you every day. But now I am on my way to the One who sent me. Not one of you has asked, ‘Where are you going?’ Instead, the longer I’ve talked, the sadder you’ve become. So let me say it again, this truth: It’s better for you that I leave. If I don’t leave, the Friend won’t come. But if I go, I’ll send him to you.

When he comes, he’ll expose the error of the godless world’s view of sin, righteousness, and judgment: He’ll show them that their refusal to believe in me is their basic sin; that righteousness comes from above, where I am with the Father, out of their sight and control; that judgment takes place as the ruler of this godless world is brought to trial and convicted.

I still have many things to tell you, but you can’t handle them now. But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you. Everything the Father has is also mine. That is why I’ve said, ‘He takes from me and delivers to you.’
(John 16:4-15 The Message)

Far from being merely some ether that leaks out of heaven, the Holy Spirit is a Divine Person, lovingly wielding power to make my feeble mind understand the abjection of my sinful situation so that I may receive the gift of righteousness and then understand that judgement is necessary to depose Satan. The Holy Spirit is the One who quickens me to live up to the lofty ideal set by Jesus. It is His efforts that give me the self control to give up the desire to control others and serve them instead. Christ offers citizenship and the Holy Spirit delivers the forms and guides me with compliance.

If the Holy Spirit were only a power, I would be right in seeking to have more of “it” but His divine personality means that in Him, I have the overflowing cup of God’s presence in my life. It means I don’t need more of Him but I just need to accept more of Him i.e. I need to admit to myself that I can’t do it all. That’s humility. Humility is hard. I don’t know why since I have very little to be proud of. That is the mysterious power of sin but thank God, He is far more powerful than sin yet He so lovingly wields His power that He and Jesus are small (humble) enough to fill my life but a little to big to fit in my pocket.

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: twicepix low battery via photopin (license)

